Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2019 Highlights

Firefly - Have Heart Know Fear Rehearsal - Fri 5 July 2019 - NFYT 2019 (photographer Andy Catlin • www.andycatlin.com)-5327This year’s Edinburgh Festival Fringe has more than 4000 shows, all jostling for your attention and attendance, plus over 100 learning and engagement events at Fringe Central. So where do you start? If the idea of this much choice is making you hyperventilate, don’t panic – we’ve got you covered. The team at YTAS have put together a list of shows to get you started that we think look intriguing, exciting, or just plain weird. Enjoy!

 

YOUNG COMPANIES

Strange Town – Dr Korczak’s Example https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/dr-korczak-s-example

Inverclyde Youth Theatre – 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/25th-annual-putnam-county-spelling-bee

Edinburgh Youth Theatre – Annie Jnr https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/annie-jr

Aquila Youth Theatre – Lord of the Flies https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/lord-of-the-flies

Aquila Youth Theatre – Goodnight Mr Tom https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/goodnight-mr-tom

Aquila Youth Theatre – Grease https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/grease

Trinity Youth Theatre – Pronoun https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/pronoun

Newbury Youth Theatre – Wizard of Winterbourne https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/wizard-of-winterbourne

Northern Youth Theatre Project – [BLANK] by Alice Birch and NYTP https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/blank-by-alice-birch-and-nytp

Parker and Snell Youth Company – Chatroom https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/chatroom

Oasties in association with Trinity Youth Theatre – Ben Hur https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/ben-hur

The Georgian Theatre Royal Youth Theatre – Dorian Gray https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/dorian-gray

National Youth Theatre of Great Britain – F. Off https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/f-off

Bluebird Youth Musical Theatre Company – Triplex Adventures https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/triplex-adventures

Scotland PRIME, Lothian Youth Dance, TIM Company and guests – Fear Less Age Less https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/fear-less-age-less

A’ Team Arts Nemisis 2 – The Game Changer https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/nemesis-2-the-game-changer

PACE Rep Company – Avalanche https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/avalanche

PACE Rep Company – Little Wings https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/little-wings

Grid Iron, SDTN and Pleasance Theatre Trust – The Brunch Club https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/brunch-club

Young Pleasance – A Grave Situation https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/grave-situation

THEATRE

Bryony Kimmings – I’m a Pheonix, Bitch https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/bryony-kimmings-i-m-a-phoenix-bitch

Traverse Theatre – Breakfast Plays: The Future Is […] https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/breakfast-plays-the-future-is

Middle Child – The Canary & The Crow https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/canary-and-the-crow

Cardboard Citizens – Bystanders https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/cardboard-citizens-bystanders

Barrel Organ – Conspiracy https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/conspiracy

Traverse Theatre – Crocodile Fever https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/crocodile-fever

Leyla Josephine – Daddy Drag https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/daddy-drag

Underbelly – Do Our Best https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/do-our-best

Wild Card – Electrolyte https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/electrolyte

SUPERFAN – Like Animals https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/like-animals

Keisha Thompson – Man on The Moon https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/man-on-the-moon

Activising for Change – Sad Eyes to Smile With https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/sad-eyes-to-smile-with

Roundabout – Square Go https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/square-go

Raw Material and Traverse Theatre – What Girls are Made of https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/what-girls-are-made-of

LUNG – Who Cares https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/who-cares

Creative Electric – The Happiness Project https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/happiness-project

DANCE & CIRCUS

Danny MacAskill’s Drop and Roll Live https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/danny-macaskill-s-drop-and-roll-live

Java Dance Theatre – Back of the Bus https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/back-of-the-bus

Underbelly – Filament https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/filament

Robbie Synge & Lucy Boyes Emsemble https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/ensemble

All or Nothing Ariel Dance Theatre – Heroes https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/heroes

James Wilton – Dance The Storm https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/storm

Underbelly – YUCK Circus https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/yuck-circus

EXPAND YOUR MIND

Network of Independent Critics – Critical Wellbeing https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/critical-wellbeing

Boundless Theatre – Developing Young Adult Audiences https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/developing-young-adult-audiences

Creative and Cultural Project Management- Forgotten Regions: Developing Theatre Through Rural Creative Hubs https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/forgotten-regions-developing-theatre-through-rural-creative-hubs

Youth Theatre Arts Scotland – Youth Theatre on an International Stage https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/youth-theatre-on-an-international-stage

CURIOUSER & CURIOUSER

Complicite and Polka Theatre – I’ll Take You to Mrs Cole! https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/i-ll-take-you-to-mrs-cole

Java Dance Theatre – Chocolate https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/chocolate

Tove Applegren – Honey https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/honey

The New Victorians – MARA https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/mara

YTAS TEAM TOP PICKS

We asked some of the friendly faces in the YTAS family what show they’re most looking forward to seeing this August:

Kenny – Activising for Change – Sad Eyes to Smile With https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/sad-eyes-to-smile-with

Helen – Leyla Josephine – Daddy Drag https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on#q=%22daddy%20drag%22

Catherine – BAC Beatbox Academy – Frankenstein: How to Make a Monster https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/frankenstein-how-to-make-a-monster

Vikki – Cardboard Citizens – Bystanders https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/cardboard-citizens-bystanders

Andy – Puppet State – The Man Who Planted Trees https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/man-who-planted-trees

Share

You might also like...

Stay up to date with the latest news from YTAS and the youth theatre industry in Scotland

Ayr in the spotlight with the return of National Festival of Youth Theatre 
Budding young talent will fill the stalls of the Gaiety Theatre on Friday as National Festival of Youth Theatre participants descend on Ayr.
Our Survey Says…
Next week we’ll be launching a survey as part of our research project aiming to evidence the long-term impact of participation in youth theatre.